In the first half of 2018, Romania, through the Ministry of Internal Affairs, ensure the Presidency of the Salzburg Forum, a regional mechanism for political consultations and multilateral co-operation.

The Salzburg Forum was founded in July 2000, at Austria’s initiative, and brought together the home affairs ministries of the 9 member states: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia.

In September 2007, the Group of Friends of the Salzburg Forum in Western Balkans Group was set up, including Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro, and the Republic of Moldova, taking into account the particular attention that the European Union grants to this area from the perspective of a potential new enlargement.

 The Forum’ Presidency is routed by Member States for periods of six months.

Interior Ministers meet on a biannual basis within the framework of the Ministerial Conference of Salzburg Forum, occasion with which a Joint Declaration is adopted. The ministerial conference is traditionally followed by the meeting of the Group of Friends of the Salzburg Forum in Western Balkans Group and the Republic of Moldova.

The objectives of each of the Chairmen shall be set out in a schedule of the respective Presidency. Starting from 2015, the practice of an 18-month Programme has been created, bringing together three consecutive presidencies, following the Triou of EU Council presidencies.

Calendar of activities    ( download "pdf" file)

The priorities of the Romanian Presidency of the Salzburg Forum    ( download "pdf" file )

Trio presidency of the Salzburg Forum work programme    ( download "pdf" file )